Hobbit Inn

You are here Home  > Accommodation  > Holiday Rentals >  Hobbit Inn
Item image

Inspired by J.R.R. Tolkien and his “hobbits” this earth-shelterd dwelling is located out of the way, build into a mountain near Columbia River Gorge – halfway between Seattle and Spokane in the US state of Washington. Even the terrace could not be more “hobbit-like”. From there, guests can enjoy a fantastic view on the sihouette of the surrounding mountains.

This off-grid hobbit house consists of a wooden frame construction, which is embedded in the slope and insulated against moisture. The interior offers space for a living room with a fireplace, a bedroom with double bed and a bathroom. There is no cooking facility in the house. The home is powered by three solar panels, the water comes from a nearby water storage, a septic tank takes waste, the greywater system provides water for the grass covering the home and propane heats the house. The interior of this almost self-sufficient home is proof for the owners excellent sense of fairytale-like furnishing and of her creativity – already the round entrance door looks like taken from a (Tolkien) picture book.

During winter (December to March) a four-wheel drive vehicle is required to get to the property. In winter the pipes may also freeze. For this case an outhouse is set on the property.
Hobbit Inn isn’t only for Tolkien fans, but also perfect for guests who just want to pass a few days at a secluded place. Due to the positive reactions by guests about the lack of wifi, the owner doesn’t plan to put wifi in.

Further information on the construction of Hobbit Inn at www.tinyhouseontheprairie.net
Booking: exclusively via airbnb


Our address

Address:
Hobbit Inn, 70 Rd N (a.k.a. Lot 81 Mountain Springs Road), Orondo, WA 98843, USA
GPS:
47.813551118773184, -119.9254751714605
Web:
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/8794484

Leave a review

Price
Location
Staff
Services
Food

Comments are closed.

Hobbit Inn

You are here Home  > Übernachten  > Ferienwohnungen und -häuser >  Hobbit Inn
Item image

Das von J.R.R. Tolkien und seinen „Hobbits“ inspirierte Erdhügelhaus liegt abseits der Fahrstraße, erreichbar über einen Fußpfad, im Hang eines Bergzuges am Columbia River Gorge – auf halber Strecke zwischen Seattle und Spokane im US-Bundesstaat Washington. Selbst die Terrasse könnte nicht „hobbitmäßiger“ sein. Von dort oben kann man den Blick über die Sihouette der umgebenden Berge schweifen lassen.

Das Hobbithaus besteht aus einer in den Hang eingelassenen, gegen Feuchteeintritt abgedichteten Holzrahmenkonstruktion, die im Inneren Platz für einen Wohnraum mit Kamin, ein Schlafzimmer mit Doppelbett und ein Bad bietet. Eine Kochmöglichkeit gibt es im Haus nicht. Strom wird über drei PV-Module gewonnen. Das Wasser stammt von einem nahegelegenen Wasserspeicher, das Grauwassersystem bewässert das Gras auf dem Dach, das Abwasser läuft in eine Kleinkläranlage, beheizt wird das Haus mit Propangas. Die Ausstattung dieses semi-autarken Domizils ist fantasievoll und märchenhaft – schon die runde Eingangstüre sieht aus, wie aus einem (Tolkien-)Bilderbuch.

Bei Buchungen im Winter (Dezember bis März) wird ein Allrad-Fahrzeug benötigt, um zum Grundstück zu gelangen. Im Winter kann es außerdem vorkommen, dass die Leitungen einfrieren. Für diesen Fall befindet sich abseits auf dem Grundstück ein Klohäuschen.
Das Hobbithaus ist nicht nur etwas für Tokienfans, sondern auch perfekt für Gäste, die sich einfach ein paar Tage komplett an einen einsamen Ort zurückziehen möchten. Aufgrund der positiven Resonanz bei den Gästen hat die Eigentümerin nicht geplant, WLAN einzurichten.

Weitere Infos über den Bau des Hobbithauses auf www.tinyhouseontheprairie.net
Buchung: ausschließlich über airbnb


Our address

Address:
Hobbit Inn, 70 Rd N (a.k.a. Lot 81 Mountain Springs Road), Orondo, WA 98843, USA
GPS:
47.813536708971, -119.92533803668
Web:
https://www.airbnb.de/rooms/8794484

Leave a review

Preis
Location
Team
Service
Essen

Comments are closed.